Department of Nephrology

Dr D.Udana Rathnapala, Consultant Nephrologist

Nephrology and Transplantation unit, Badulla is the main renal centre in Uva province  liaising with satellite units at Mahiyanganaya, Monaragala, Wellawaya, Welimada and Diyathalawa.

Currently it renders services inclusive of Maintenance Haemodialysis, continuous Ambulatory Peritoneal Dialysis (CAPD) and Kidney transplantation. Transplantation being the newest arm of renal replacement therapy, has been successfully performed in 9 patients since October 2019.